Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-04-2013, 12:12 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1961 16' Bambi
Malden , Missouri
Running lights

I'm still a relative newbie, so feel free to let the ideas flow:

My running lights are blowing the fuse on my TV. During the brief moment that they do illuminate, the curbside amber is bright, the streetside amber is dim, and neither of the side rear reds light up, not does the license plate light.

I THINK the problem is that there is only one wire running to the rear streetside red (I'm thinking a PO somehow lost it in the wall.). Testing that hypothesis, I ran a temporary wire along the outside from the dim amber to the streetside no-light rear red and got it to glow very dimly--nothing else in the back though.

I'm stumped as to how to get my no-lights and dim one to work properly. I've also inspected the umbilical at the tV as well as the location in the front wall where the umbilical ties in to the various wires and those connections are tight.

It'll be another week or two before I can try anything, so you have plenty of time to comment--with ideas! ;-)

Thanks for any help you an give.

Aulden
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2906116363.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	352.3 KB
ID:	197038  
ragin-cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 12:34 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1978 31' Excella 500
Venice , California