Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-13-2016, 03:21 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Glencoe , Minnesota
Rear end seperation?

I'm new to this but the gf and I have been talking about finding an AS for a couple of years and we are getting close to pulling the trigger. We don't mind if it is a little bit of a project but don't want to get in over our heads. I'm looking at a 72 Sovereign right now. The skin look good and the PO has done some work to some of the sytems inside. I am pretty sure the axles are shot but that could be negotiated in the price I believe. My biggest concern is the rear end. I did the 'stand on the bumper' test but I was by myslf when I went to look at it. I noticed some flex but it didn't seem terrible. I neglected to take a picture of the bumper area. The inside looked good until I got to the rear bath. I can tell the floor around the toilet has issues and needs attention. Not ideal, but fixable I believe. The big issue is that it appears the rear vanity area is 'falling' based on the cracks I saw. Is this proof positive that the rear end is seperating? Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Everding72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 03:34 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico