Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-05-2014, 05:38 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
cincinnati , Ohio
Pinless moisture meters?

I am a hobbyist woodworker and have a pinless moisture meter I use when buying rough lumber from folks on CL. It's always interesting to know when the wood Moisture content does not jibe with the description. I typically take a block plane with me so I can get a really good seating against the wood - but then again a few percentages can make a difference in wood movement (and measurements).

I'm about to go take a look at a trailer and will be probing with an ice pick for soft spots. Another thread on a probe type meter got me thinking - has anyone used a pinless moisture meter during a trailer inspection with any reliable results? I'm not looking for precise moisture content, but just a heads up of a leak/no leak, so a flat exposure to the wood in theory is not as important.

I know it will be below freezing when I take my first look, but it has rained and snowed a great deal recently, so there could be some water if there is a leak.

So, has anyone used a pinless moisture meter with any reliable success during a trailer inspection?
thanks.
RhinoWW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 05:54 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
I use a probe type meter to regularly check mine for leaks. Not sure what trailer you are looking at but nearly all have a vinyl floor covering over the plywood subfloor. Some have carpet areas. I think the pinless meter has to come in direct contact with the wood (?) and if so would not work.

The Truth is More Important Than the Facts
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote