Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2016, 04:08 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1966 20' Globetrotter
2008 23' International
Currently Looking...
Denver , Iowa
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to hahnstead
no power to 110 receptacles

I just purchased a 2008 International CCD and cannot determine why I have no power to the 110 receptacle on the wall which holds the TV (it's next to the antenna connection). Also, there's no power to the 110 receptacle on the front wall under the dinette table. All the other receptacles have power. I have tripped the breakers and flipped them back on. Neither of these receptacles are GFIs so there is no reset button. What have I missed? I told the previous owner of this problem, and he said the receptacles had been working for him, as well as he remembers. Anyone out there have any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Hahnstead Airstream Park
hahnstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 04:14 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
jayseejay's Avatar
 
2015 27' FB Eddie Bauer
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Fernandina Beach , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 489
Long shot - Could those be receptacles tied to an inverter? They would typically be labeled as such. If so, they would only work with the inverter turned on. Joe
__________________

__________________
jayseejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 05:15 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
1966 20' Globetrotter
2008 23' International
Currently Looking...
Denver , Iowa
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to hahnstead
The trailer doesn't have an inverter. But thanks for the suggestion!
__________________
Hahnstead Airstream Park
hahnstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 05:20 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Minno's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
Lexington , Minnesota
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,323
Do you have a wiring diagram to show where these two outlets are fed from? Maybe an upstream outlet is a GFCI and it has tripped. Check your outside outlet just to be sure.

You may need to pull the outlets and make sure that the wires are still connected to them. Sometimes they come loose or break. Be safe doing that - turn the breaker off that feeds those outlets. If you don't know which breaker it is, turn off the main (or unplug from shore power).

Chris
__________________
Minno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 05:56 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
1966 20' Globetrotter
2008 23' International
Currently Looking...
Denver , Iowa
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to hahnstead
I don't have a wiring diagram. There are two "Circuit breaker GFCI protected" receptacles. One of these is in the galley, the other is on the curb side lower wall just to the right of the door. Both of these receptacles are hot.
__________________
Hahnstead Airstream Park
hahnstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 05:57 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
1966 20' Globetrotter
2008 23' International
Currently Looking...
Denver , Iowa
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to hahnstead
I've also checked the outside outlet. It is not a GFCI.
__________________
Hahnstead Airstream Park
hahnstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 08:24 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
you might have a grci breaker or the gfci might be along the circuit between the outlet and the breaker panel.
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 09:10 PM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
1966 20' Globetrotter
2008 23' International
Currently Looking...
Denver , Iowa
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to hahnstead
Same thought I had, but I can't find any reset. And if one of the GFCI receptacles was tripped, why would the GDCI receptacles still be working? I'm out of my league here.
__________________
Hahnstead Airstream Park
hahnstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 10:27 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2010 27' FB International
La Crescent , Minnesota
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
I am not an electritian.
#1 disconect shore power
#2 Pull the breakers affected from the box.
#3with a volt meter check for continuity between the breaker and the box.
if the is continuity on the black wire, check for continuity between the neutral bar and the box. (white wire)
if there is not continuityn on any circut, the break must be repaired.
An extention wire is probably going to be required to have the volt meter reach between the boxes and the breaker panel.
Jay
__________________
mjayjensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 07:29 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
Might be nothing, but try resetting all the breakers just in case they are labeled incorrectly. Firmly reset them three or four times.
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 09:33 AM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
1966 20' Globetrotter
2008 23' International
Currently Looking...
Denver , Iowa
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to hahnstead
thanks, Jay. I will try this.
__________________
Hahnstead Airstream Park
hahnstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 12:46 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
the outside outlet piggybacks on the gfci protected circuit. i'm not sure how it is wired on your unit but common places to look for the gfci outlet is near any sink. in the breaker box look for a white button. there might be other varieties. does the outlet have room for i plug or two?

a tester like this would be helpful. http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pro...f09698_145.jpg
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 01:24 PM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
SuzyHomemakr's Avatar
 
1972 29' Ambassador
Boynton Beach , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 385
Sounds like the two plugs are on the same circuit, so the culprit is probably the upstream one. If there are four wires in the back of one, and two wires in the back of the other, it's the first one. Put a meter on the black and white wires to see if you have juice there. If you have juice, replace the plug. No juice? Check the next plug upstream. Replace if necessary, if no change, there's a problem in the wire.
__________________
SuzyHomemakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 01:43 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,813
Images: 12
i do not know the layout of your trailer so i must ask. Do the 2 recepticels that don't work look like they are off the same breaker, same side of trailer one just beyond the other.

If they look like they are on the same circuit and all the breakers test OK. That is with a voltmeter on the output side of the breaker in the electrical panel. If so disconnect the shore power and open the recepticel closest to the electrical panel and look at the wire connections. RV recepticels are often PUSH connectors, rather than screw connectors and the connection may be open feeding the first recepticel.

Be careful opening the recepticel as not to cause the connection to open as you are working. They are a cheap system not fit for over the road applications.
__________________

__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run power off two 20amp receptacles? KYAirstream Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 10 10-29-2012 11:19 PM
Different DC Cigarette Plug Receptacles? rseagle Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 08-14-2010 08:03 AM
have 110 receptacles no overhead lights michaelsessa Lights - Interior & Exterior 4 04-29-2007 07:45 PM
Interior receptacles behind curtains davidz71 General Interior Topics 1 01-31-2006 08:53 PM
Electrical Receptacles don't work now goldenlily Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 10-03-2005 01:39 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.