Old 12-05-2013, 07:46 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1963 19' Globetrotter
1948 22' Liner
Fort Worth , Texas
Newbie question about tanks--in general

I am completely new to campers and camping (or is it glamping?). I'm little confused about tank language as I undertake a '63 GT refit.

So I gather black is poo, gray is dishwater (and everything not-poo), and then there's fresh water. But I also notice while shopping for tanks, that black tanks are generally....black. And freshwater is white. Is there a logic to this---different material required for the service, for ex?---or is this just convention? I'm wondering whether tanks listed as freshwater can be used as grey, or vice-versa (assuming they are virgin of course!). I'm also wondering why black is kept separate from gray----why wouldn't I want a large combined black/gray tank?

And how do I know about levels in each?

Please have pity on my ignorance . Any consultation would be greatly appreciated.

Old 12-05-2013, 08:03 AM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by balance94 View Post
So I gather black is poo, gray is dishwater (and everything not-poo), and then there's fresh water. But I also notice while shopping for tanks, that black tanks are generally....black. And freshwater is white. Is there a logic to this---different material required for the service, for ex?---or is this just convention?
Black-colored tanks are made of ABS plastic. White-colored tanks are made of food-grade polyethylene. American National Standards Institute (ANSI) has specific requirements for plastic that is meant to come into contact with food and liquids for human consumption; items meeting those requirements are called "food-grade." ABS is not food-grade, but is perfectly fine for contact with waste products.
Quote:
I'm wondering whether tanks listed as freshwater can be used as grey, or vice-versa (assuming they are virgin of course!).