Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-22-2015, 11:06 AM   #1
Green, but Eager to Learn

1970 31' Sovereign
Austin , Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to jonray
New Restoration Project: Need Inspection, Austin, TX: 1970 Sovereign

Hi there, I'm looking for advice on restoration and someone knowledgable that can give me an inspection in Austin, TX.

Just picked this guy up in Huntington Beach, CA and towed it back to Austin, TX, where I'll be turning it into my new project. I'm new to Airstream restoration, but have given myself the time freedom to be able to focus on this full time for the next few months.

First off, I'd love to have someone come out and inspect this thing and give me an idea of which areas of restoration should come first. The trailer has been completely gutted, with new floors put in, but all counter space, shelving, and bedding has been removed. Only the bathroom fixtures remain.

A couple of the windows are leaking, so I'd like to look into getting everything sealed up from the outside elements and have an electrical engineer or someone who knows about these things look into the electrical system and give me some advice.

Any thoughts or ideas on the best way to get started, good books or resources to check out, and any other forum posts that you feel would be beneficial would be greatly appreciated.