Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-09-2005, 09:39 AM   #1

Post New poster (and Airstream owner!) questions

Hi,

Just registered here, looking at a '60's Overlander as temporary winter housing while we finish our new house. I've laid out my driveway so I'll have a permanent gravel pad with septic connection right behind the house - figured that eventually a trailer would be reasonably inexpensive and private guest housing, and not taxable as real estate square footage either!

My kids are grown, just my wife and I and a new smaller house I've been working on for 5 years here on our old 80 acre farm in southern Maine. Looks like our old house (and current living quarters!) might sell quite quickly and leave us out in the cold till I can finish enough of the interior on the new house to obtain an occupancy permit. I don't want to rent, have lusted after a classic Airstream for years (to go along with my '60's Dodge Power Wagons and John Deeres), and I think now is the time.