Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2014, 04:56 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
1968 28' Ambassador
Mckinney , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
New dometic ac compressor won't work

I wasn't sure where to post this exactly so sorry if it's in the wrong place. I had a coleman mach 2 ac that the compressor would try to kick on but could never. So I replaced all the capacitors and no improvement. Since it's on a 68 airstream and was very old I figured I will just buy a newer ac and that will fix all the problems. Wrong. I just installed it and the fan blows and I can hear the compressor trying to start but no luck then eventually the whole ac turns off. I doubt it's anything in the ac since it's brand new so anyone got some thoughts. It's on a 28 land yatch 68 year. I'm hooked up to a 220 50amp hook up. Thanks. I'm trying to remodel the interior and no ac in the Texas heat makes this silver bullet a sweat shop.
__________________

__________________
Smokincj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 05:05 PM   #2
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
If its new it should be a warranty issue. Take it to Camper Whirled.
__________________

__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 05:09 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
220 50 A service? Your Airstream is a 120 30 amp service system. Are you sure you have not cremated something?
__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 05:09 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,041
Images: 11
Who rewired the trailer from stock 30 amp? (And/or is this addressed in the proper trailer plug?

There is nothing that uses 240 volts, and not the a/c...
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:49 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
1968 28' Ambassador
Mckinney , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
I'm sorry need to clarify. The airstream is 30amps plugged into a 220 outlet. If the 220 outlet is delivering to much power I've had that thought but wasn't sure.
__________________
Smokincj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 06:54 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,041
Images: 11
New dometic ac compressor won't work

If your trailer had a three prong 30 amp plug,,,, the 240 amp socket is going to be very bad.

If the socket is wired with a 120V leg on each side blade, and a neutral on the center prong it is WRONG, and will be very bad for anything turned on in the trailer.
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:01 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,041
Images: 11
http://www.kc7hxc.us/links/RV/RV%20W...V%20Wiring.htm
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:04 PM   #8
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokincj5 View Post
I'm sorry need to clarify. The airstream is 30amps plugged into a 220 outlet. If the 220 outlet is delivering to much power I've had that thought but wasn't sure.
If this is really the situation, you probably just fried almost every major 120VAC component in the RV.

30 amp/240 VAC is for clothes dryers. 30 amp/120VAC 3 wire is for RVs.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:25 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
rodsterinfl's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari
Fort Myers , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,429
Images: 8
You doubled the voltage- wrong plug. As others have posted you use 120 volt for the trailer- a regular house plug uses that voltage BUT most circuits or plugs offer 15-20 amps maximum. So, they make a different plug for the 30 amp (what the trailer needs) unless it is a newer model and then it uses again a different style or 50 amp plug. Yep, the angled prongs may look similar to a 220 volt plug but they are not. If you have one you may want to use a 120V 30 amp to 120V 15 amp adapter for the trailer plug to plug into a regular house outlet BUT do NOT run the AC. Check to see if things are working in your trailer- interior lights, fuses, etc. The wattage is too low to run MOST all AC units but at least you can deal with the little stuff to see if all is well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RV-Dryer_Outlets.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	85.9 KB
ID:	221442  
__________________
WBCCI 8653/AIR 60240
2017 Ford F-150 3.5 Ecobeast Gen 2 3.55 Platinum
rodsterinfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:34 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
You should be able to measure the voltage at the receptacle you are plugged into.
Show us a pic of the receptacle.
If it is in fact 240 volts. You have done damage to any 120 volt device that was connected. ie converter, A/C, microwave etc.


Sent from my iPod touch using Airstream Forums
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:40 PM   #11
Moderator
 
jcanavera's Avatar

 
2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9,002
Images: 143
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
Had a friend who had an electrician....run a 30 amp circuit to the outside of her home so that she could plug in her trailer. She showed the electrician the Airstream plug and upon quick glance he assumed it was a 240 plug. He put in the new outlet and she plugged in and fried every electrical device in the trailer. Thankfully the electrical contractor stood behind the work and paid for replacing all fried devices in her trailer. Based on the outlets you would think that a 30 amp plug wouldn't fit into a 240 outlet, but I guess it can.

Jack
__________________
Jack Canavera
STL Mo.
AIR #56
'04 Classic 30' S.O.,'03 GMC Savana 2500,'14 Honda CTX 700
jcanavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 09:39 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
A 30 amp plug designed for 240 volts will fit into a receptacle designed for such things as the electric dryer in your home.
A 30 amp 120 volt plug designed for an RV will not plug into a 240 volt receptacle. It will however plug into a 30 amp receptacle designed for that purpose.
An electrician who doesn't understand the difference is not competent in the field. One of the first rules in a technical field. Is to read and understand the "nameplate" data. If that data isn't present. More research is required. Before just wiring any device to a power source.


Sent from my iPod touch using Airstream Forums
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 09:45 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,041
Images: 11
New dometic ac compressor won't work

Good point,,, simple check,,,,

A voltmeter across the two outside blades will tell the tale.

If 120, everything would seem to be cool, (provided the middle prong checks to safety ground)

If 240, it is absolutely positively wired wrong.
__________________

__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fan operates, but compressor won't kick on tinsltootsie Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 9 06-14-2017 04:25 PM
Dometic 13,500 A/C compressor turns off after 30 seconds axlrock10 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 7 06-01-2013 12:20 PM
Dometic frig won't work on gas jdanielii General Repair Forum 3 05-28-2012 07:51 AM
A/C Compressor won't cycle off 68 TWind Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 5 08-23-2011 10:28 PM
A/C Compressor won't start... TennisMan Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 0 07-09-2008 08:26 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.