Old 01-23-2014, 12:55 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2013 16' Sport
Adairsville , Georgia
Need some hopefully simple repair advice

I am an AS newbie. I bought my Bambi 16' (which we love) at Colonial in NJ last August, and towed it home to Georgia with no issues other than a flat tire on the trailer in Virginia. The tire had picked up a screw.
Yesterday I am going over the Bambi getting ready to head toward the Alumafiesta in Tucson and discovered that one of the self tapping screws holding the sewer drain storage tube to the belly of the trailer had come out. My drain won't fit in the tube, so I haven't paid it much attention, but the minute I saw the screw missing, I realized was obviously the one the tire picked up.
I'm nowhere close to an AS dealer, so I'm planning on fixing it myself, but simply using a bigger screw is not my idea of a permanent repair, since the same thing could happen. This also applies to the other screws. I'm looking for a permanent fix for them all.
I guess I could remove the tube since I don't use it, but I hate to do away with any type of storage.
I'm even wondering if I should wait and find and AS dealer along the way to AZ, and have them fix it under warranty.
Advice will be gratefully appreciated.
Cheers

Old 01-23-2014, 01:09 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Cary , North Carolina
Be good to try and figure out why it came out. If they missed hitting a solid piece of metal you need to move the bracket so you can hit metal. If they simply overtightened the screw stripping the hole , or undertightened it, a new sheet metal screw can fix it.

Unless you can get behind the attachment point to put on a machine screw and a self locking nut, you may want to put in a slightly larger diameter sheet metal screw.

Take out one of the other ones to determine length needed, head to Lowes or Ace and get a stainless sheetmetal screw one size larger in diameter.

Raleigh, NC
Wayward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 01:21 PM   #3