Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2016, 09:25 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 278
Need help with Thermostat sensors!

I have a 2015 27FB International Serenity. I ordered the trailer new with dual A/C units for the front and rear zones.

Since the trailer was new, neither temperature sensor has accurately responded to the indoor temperature. This results in the thermostat being useless because it doesn't accurately read the temperature change of the interior zone.

I suspect that the problem is the location of the temperature sensors. There must be two, one for the front and one for the rear because they read different temperatures from each other. But both are inside the interior skin and must be too heavily influenced by the exterior skin temp.

For example, while in Vegas the outside temp was 110+ all week. I had the A/C thermostat for both zones set at 72. However the inside temp according to the thermostat never dropped below 85. In reality, the inside temp was probably in the mid 60s. It was freezing us out. Since the inside temp according to the thermostat never dropped below 85, the A/C ran continuously. If you turn the thermostat up to 86 then it gets too hot and the A/C doesn't turn on at a decent inside temperature because the sensors don't measure the correct inside temp.

I want to fix this problem but I am unsure where the temperature sensors are for the 27FB International Serenity with two factory A/Cs.

What have others done? Is there an easy fix? Does anyone know if there is a replacement thermostat that uses wireless sensors that could be placed somewhere in the interior of the cabin? Basically the current thermostat is useless for regulating heat or cold when the sensors are not accurately reporting the inside temperatures.
__________________

__________________
RVDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 09:57 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member
 
Hogfan's Avatar
 
2015 27' FB International
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 123
Blog Entries: 1
We have a 2015 International and we are having the same thing. The living room unit is freezing us out and the bedroom unit air output seems so much warmer. Nit hot, but not AC cold???
__________________

__________________
Hogfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 10:25 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 278
That sounds like a different problem. Both our front and back ducts put out cold air just fine.

Our problem is that the thermostat sensors don't measure the indoor temp correctly.

I think the rear sensor might be up against the refrigerator unit, so it reads a nearly constant warm temperature. The other sensor in the front must be too close to the outside skin because it reads way too warm when the sun shines on the outside, when it is cold outside it reads way to cold.

Either way the thermostat works, and our air is cold, it just is impossible to regulate the correct temperature because the sensors are wrong.

I know they are way off because I can measure the inside temp and it is nothing like the inside temp being reported by the thermostat when you hold down the inside temp button.
__________________
RVDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 10:34 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
No. 13's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Orange County , California
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 186
Make sure the fan is set to auto
__________________
No. 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 10:35 PM   #5
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,128
If you investigate the Dometic installation manuals, you will see that the mounting and location specifications for their remote temperature sensors are quite specific. Unfortunately, Airstream, (as they do so often) almost TOTALLY IGNORES these engineering details and places the sensors where ever they feel it's 'convenient'!

If I recall (it's been a while) the sensor should be located approx. 48" above floor level and not exposed to an outside window (excessive heat/cold) or near any other heat producing appliance.

I have seen these sensors placed on the wall that forms the fridge chimney (near the TV mount), which is also next to a nice, large window. What could possibly be wrong with THAT location???

You might not have an operational problem with the sensor, but rather with it's poor location!
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 10:58 PM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 278
Hi Lewster,

I think it is just a location problem not a functional problem.

Both sensors read temperatures that change over time but just don't accurately reflect the real inside temp.

What is the best way to go about fixing this? How do I find the sensors and re-locate them to better locations?

It would be nice if there were a wireless solution that would allow you to place sensors in the interior. Similar to the way the new smart home thermostats allow you to place multiple battery powered sensors around in your home.
__________________
RVDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2016, 11:44 PM   #7
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,128
Unfortunately, you are limited to the use of Dometic's hard-wired remote sensors as they are proprietary to the control boards and CCC-II thermostat. I'm not sure if you can extend the cable by splicing more wire onto the existing sensor to relocate it.

A call to Dometic's tech support line might get you the answer for that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RVDreamer View Post
Hi Lewster,

I think it is just a location problem not a functional problem.

Both sensors read temperatures that change over time but just don't accurately reflect the real inside temp.

What is the best way to go about fixing this? How do I find the sensors and re-locate them to better locations?

It would be nice if there were a wireless solution that would allow you to place sensors in the interior. Similar to the way the new smart home thermostats allow you to place multiple battery powered sensors around in your home.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 03:51 AM   #8
Rivet Master

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3,558
Similar problems have been reported on a variety of threads, which these search results for "Dometic thermostat sensor location" will aid in finding FYI:

https://cse.google.com/cse?cx=011403...tion&gsc.sort=

For example, these threads may help:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f427...ct-153524.html
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f427...ms-149418.html
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f427...or-148649.html

Or maybe some of the threads listed in this sub-forum:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f427/

Good luck in relocating your sensors!
__________________
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 05:46 AM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
StokerDoc's Avatar
 
2013 28' International
Victoria , British Columbia
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 53
I have a 2013 28' International Serenity with dual, non-ducted, A/Cs. The bedroom is Zone 1 and the main cabin is Zone 2 with the furnace being on Zone 2. The thermostat is in the bedroom.

I found the remote temperature sensor in the main cabin (zone 2) behind the TV. It is a small white vented cover. The weird thing is the remote sensor displays the main cabin temp, again, Zone 2, on Zone 1 on the thermostat. And vice versa for zone 2, it gets its temp information directly from the thermosta in the bedroom. I tested it. I took the cover off the sensor, held the sensor in my hand and saw the temperature change on Zone 1 on the thermostat display. I closed the curtain and had a small electric heater running in the bedroom and Zone 2 temp display rose accordingly, while the main cabin was quite cooler and the temp stayed constant as I left windows open on a chilly day.

So the A/C in the bedroom is controlled by the remote sensor in the main cabin, and the A/C in the main cabin is controlled by the temp in the bedroom. When the curtain is closed, like we do almost every night as the kids sleep in the main cabin, we have a hard time balancing the temperature in the trailer.

I'm baffled by this. Maybe someone could explain why this was done. I've had it looked into by my dealer, but he said all was as it should be.
__________________
StokerDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 05:54 AM   #10
Rivet Master

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3,558
Are you sure the dealer knows his stuff? Sounds like the two sensor wires were installed backwards. Have you tried a hard reset of the stat per the Dometic manual with your AS paperwork? This is discussed in many threads including the ones I linked earlier. You may have a software glitch which the hard reset could fix IMO.

Good luck!

Peter
__________________
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 06:02 AM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
StokerDoc's Avatar
 
2013 28' International
Victoria , British Columbia
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 53
I did a full reset, and I got into the service side of the thermostat and determined that there is no remote sensor connected on Zone 2. But there is on Zone 1. The sensor plugs into the AC as does the control for the furnace. A simple communication wire connects the 2 A/Cs and another communication wire connects the thermostat. For some reason it appears like the remote temp sensor is placed in the main cabin and plugged into the bedroom AC. Without pulling the interior ceiling skin down to confirm, I might add.
__________________
StokerDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 06:52 AM   #12
Rivet Master

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3,558
Thanks. Hopefully lewster will have some suggestions for you.
__________________
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 07:27 AM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
jayseejay's Avatar
 
2015 27' FB Eddie Bauer
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Fernandina Beach , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 431
Hi RV Dreamer-

This is a fairly common problem with the AC sensor placement in newer 27' units with 2 ACs. Zone 1 - the zone where the thermostat resides, is controlled by a sensor in the thermostat itself. Zone 2 is controlled from a sensor on the fridge was behind the TV in the living area. The heat from the fridge (and the TV if on) impacts the reading of the sensor (which is mounted in the small white plastic cage). Some of us have had luck improving the reading by pulling the wire sensor out a few inches from the mounting hole so it reads more of the ambient air temperature, but it still reads 5-8 degrees too high, so we set that zone higher at the thermostat by about that amount. (I'm not sure why your zone 1 sensors is not reading well. Perhaps heat from a bedroom tv is reaching the thermostat?) Hope that helps a bit. Joe
__________________
jayseejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 11:56 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
m.hony's Avatar
 
2013 30' Classic
Greenwood , Mississippi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10,933
I think the sensor for the front unit is within the thermostat housing.
The sensor for the bedroom unit in my trailer is on the wall near the TV, so the heat from the TV causes the unit to run constantly and freeze you out of the bedroom.
I have voice my general annoyance with the CCC II thermostat system. No need to rant here.
Basically, though, this system is a useless, unreliable, overly complicated POS!
__________________

__________________
2013 Classic 30 Limited
2007 Silver Toyota Tundra Crew Max Limited 5.7 iForce
2006 Vivid Black Harley-Davidson Road King Classic
1999 Black Nissan Pathfinder LE
TAC #MS-10
WBCCI #1811, Region 6, Unit 56
Airforums #70955
m.hony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holding Tank sensors andyfuson Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 43 01-09-2009 10:16 PM
Waste, Gray, Water tank sensors. soldiermedic Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 0 11-20-2006 10:13 PM
Macerator and Holding Tank Sensors SmokelessJoe Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 1 01-04-2006 08:47 PM
Holding Tank Sensors seamusthegray Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 7 11-08-2004 03:38 PM
Level sensors - not working drboyd Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 3 12-06-2003 07:16 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.