Old 06-16-2016, 12:09 PM   #1
LWM

1968 30' Sovereign
Beacon , New York
Looking for restoration help in New Mexico - my first Airstream

I'm a total newbie to the community - happy to be here. I hope I am posting this in the right place and not asking too many dumb questions right off the bat...

My wife and I have the opportunity to acquire this 1968 Sovereign from northern New Mexico, where it has been sinking in the ground on a piece of land that my father-in-law owns. It was there when he bought the land and has sat unused for who-knows how many years, 10 at the very least.

It is in the dirt up to it's rims and the interior has been a home to squirrels. It has been cleaned out, but is in need of MAJOR renovation.

Our plan is to 'liberate' this beauty and move it into our backyard in NY to accommodate guests and have it as an additional living space to supplement our tiny house. We don't anticipate that it will see much road time beyond the 2,000+ mile haul from New Mexico to New York.

We hope to make it as 'eco' as possible - convert the bath to a composting toilet and put in some kind of gray water system. We are just in the beginning stages of planning but are thinking that doing the restoration in New Mexico will make more sense (financially).

Any advice from this community is highly appreciated. I am happy to share more photos. Is there anyone in New Mexico who does restorations of this kind? I'm looking for help with the major fixes, but am on a budget so will have to pick and choose my battles. I have no idea what condition the axles are in, getting it out of the mud would be step one.

Old 06-30-2016, 08:47 AM   #2
LWM

1968 30' Sovereign
Beacon , New York
Hi, I'm bumping this post back to the top

No one has recommendations for companies or individuals that restore Airstreams in New Mexico? That seems kind of hard to believe...

Thanks!

Old 06-30-2016, 09:17 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2014 31' Classic
2015 23' International
2013 25' FB International