Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-17-2013, 09:00 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Dryden , Ontario
Looking for a Restoration Project - Need Advice

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the Airstream Forums, and I'm here, because I'm looking for a restoration project. I want want to restore an airstream that would be suitable for 2 adults (who would have a separate bedroom), plus four kids. When I have looked at new trailers, we have been looking at bunkhouses. To help me narrow down my search, does anyone have a suggestion as to the model or era I should be looking for? I'm prepared to travel extensively to find the project if necessary, and I'm prepared to wait for the right project to come along.
pckeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 10:45 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
asbury park , New Jersey
yes. i think you'd be looking for a sovereign probably (31 ft) with twin beds and bunks. then the 2 adults can sleep in the front pull out gaucho. i *think* you can add bunks to any set of twin beds. i think you'll find this layout in almost any year of vintage airstream, but they seem much more common in the 70's trailers.

Look out for rear-end separation. Jump on that back bumper, and make sure the unit bounces up and down as one cohesive unit; if the body stays in place and the bumper moves ; that's 'rear end separation'.
NJtoNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 11:21 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

1997 25' Safari
1973 25' Tradewind
Greenville , South Carolina
If you want something small and cheaper to tow, I would recommend a Tradewind. Two singles and above space for bunks, plus the gaucho at front. To me that is the ticket.
montanablue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 11:25 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas