Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-04-2011, 07:19 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Is there anything that is less insulated than an Airstream?

I was out working in the trailer today and it seems that if the sun is out the AC is pretty much worthless. The ceiling is always hot. The heat from the sun goes through that aluminum skin and what little insulation is in there. It was about 80 today here in Alabama and sunny. I think that with the AC on it was still about 80. THe AC seems to be working ok. I got a 20 degree differential between the intake and exhaust. I am assuming hot ceilings are normal? I do need to clean the roof which will help it reflect more heat.

Perry
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 07:28 PM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Perry, you can paint the roof sheet with white Kool-Seal, and it will cut down a lot on the heat. I did this on ours, and was able to comfortably work on the roof in the sun (in shorts), but our friends' identical Airstream with silver roof left me feeling like I needed to roll myself in some breading. I installed air conditioners on both trailers the same day.
Old 10-04-2011, 07:43 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
My air conditioner gets so cold in mine that I could hang meat in there.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 08:41 PM   #4
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by perryg114 View Post