Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2019, 01:11 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2019 28' International
Murphy , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 49
I have 50 Amp but only 30 Amp available

I have adaptor so I can plug into the 30 Amp. I know only 1 AC can run. Will the thermostat only run 1 AC on its own? Can I still use my 50 amp EMS surge protector?
__________________

Jkreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 01:40 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
fran&frank's Avatar
 
2016 27' Flying Cloud
Hartsburg , Missouri
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 297
I believe your EMS will work fine but you should set your thermostat to only use on AC unit.
__________________

__________________
Frank & Fran
2016 27' FC FB with 400 W solar
2016 Ford F150 EcoBoost
Equalizer Hitch
fran&frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 02:01 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
turk123's Avatar
 
2019 30' Classic
Canfield , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,571
If you add an Easy Start from Micro Air to one of your ACs, you can run both. I do that all the time. Works great!
__________________
Our Google images and chat: https://photos.app.goo.gl/CMQbpNXQwapMnj8t9

2017 Airstream International Signature 27FB Twin
2019 Airstream Classic 30 Twin
turk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 02:09 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2017 28' International
Baileys Harbor , Wisconsin
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 865
Blog Entries: 1
Put your fridge and water heater on LP. My guess is that if you don’t try to start both AC units at the same time you will be fine. The real drain is the start up.
Daquenzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 02:47 PM   #5
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 7,885
Hi

Some thermostats allow you to set up by "zone". Turn off one zone and that A/C unit is out of the picture. Other setups do it other ways.

Your A/C units will pull between 13 and 17 amps each when running. Startup current will be more and can be reduced a bit with aftermarket gizmos. Even so, the running current for a pair will be right at limit / over limit for a 30 amp circuit.

30 amp breakers do *not* instantly trip at 30 amps. They trip pretty soon now at 60 amps. Indeed 30 amp plugs and sockets are only happy up to 30 amps, they much prefer 80% of 30 amps ( = 24 amps) on a continuous basis after they have seen a bit of wear and tear. That's not to say they will melt instantly, only that you will wear them out.

Your fridge running on electric probably pulls between 3 and 4 amps off of shore power. Indeed bigger fridges will pull a bit more than smaller ones. Your converter / charger likely also pulls 3 or 4 amps if the batteries are low.

If you turn on the water heater or furnace, then indeed that will get into the mix as well ....

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 10:15 AM   #6
SHE SHED
 
trikdacy's Avatar
 
2019 30' Classic
Brooklyn , New York
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 39
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by turk123 View Post
If you add an Easy Start from Micro Air to one of your ACs, you can run both. I do that all the time. Works great!
I was told by Airstream that the installation of a Easy Start from Micro Air will void the warranty. Has anyone else been told this?
trikdacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 11:39 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
lsbrodsky's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,127
Geez, how many times does this have to be posted? Some have said Airstream is installing Easy Starts at the factory service center so how can they void the warranty? nevertheless, Micro-Air has a cheap warranty you can buy with the device.

Larry
lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 12:19 PM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
jeffmc306's Avatar
 
2019 27' Globetrotter
McHenry , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 364
Blog Entries: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jkreis View Post
I have adaptor so I can plug into the 30 Amp. I know only 1 AC can run. Will the thermostat only run 1 AC on its own? Can I still use my 50 amp EMS surge protector?
Yes, you can use your EMS with a 30 Amp dog bone. I have a 30 amp extension cord that I connect to our Champion generatorís 30 amp receptacle then to the dog bone. Works great. As others have suggested, choose a Zone on your thermostat and run one AC unless you get Easy Starts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2A082F25-E531-4C42-B9B3-9A575BCC60DB.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	561.5 KB
ID:	352742  
__________________
2019 27í Globetrotter FBT Walnut/Dublin Slate
2018 FC23FB (traded)
2019 Ram 2500 Laramie Blue Ox 1500#
WBCCI# 10258
2020 Retirement Plan
jeffmc306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 02:32 PM   #9
GSG
 
2019 25' Flying Cloud
El Rito , New Mexico
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Be sure to turn one of your AC units off using the thermostat. Or if you are unsure, you can turn the breaker services one of the ACs off. Everything else will work normally on 30 amps.
I have a 2019 FCRBT. In my AS, zone 1 is the rear AC and zone 2 is the front AC, but I know other AS have the opposite configuration.
Good Luck
GSG
__________________

garysgriffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tools: Required, Nice to have, and overkill but I have it anyway scarletbison Sprinter and B-van Forum 88 10-09-2019 02:42 PM
could have, others say should have, but didn't Bob Blarney Our Community 3 10-18-2017 12:04 PM
Dometic Refrigerator Model RM3762 Only parts available RockSolid66 Airstream Classifieds 0 06-23-2015 01:27 PM
The ONLY floor rot I have found. Anyone have a quick fix idea? WILDRTEXAS Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame 8 03-18-2010 06:30 AM
New 06 airstream *a37landyacht*only 1 available in usa eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 06-07-2009 07:50 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
×