Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-20-2010, 04:46 PM   #1

1987 32' Excella
Ford City , Pennsylvania
How do you take care of it?

I am new to the AS life. Just bought an 87 Excella 32 ft. Really nice shape for 23 yrs. How do you take care of it? What is the best thing out there to wash it with? I have Air shocks on the trailer. What should I put in it for air? I have 40 lbs in it now. gvw of 8,000 lbs. So I took a chance. And what do you recomend to wax it with? I have some peeling on the top but for the most part it's in good shape and I would like to keep it that way. Last time out I had water on the floor around the hot water tank but after reading some posts it may have been my fault for having too much water in it and no room for expansion. Thanks
Supershopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 06:11 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Go back and check that water problem. If the tank were to over heat it would re leave itself through the safety valve which is outside and that water should not be able to get back inside to the floor.

Some unit had a winterizing bypass valve on the side of the heater. That valve has been known to loosen it's flare fitting and leak.

If you do not have that valve take a good look around the other fittings on the heater. Poke the floor around the heater with an ice pick. If it is soft the leak has been there for some time.

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:01 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2000 23' Safari
Vero Beach , Florida
I agree with HowieE!. If you got water you got a leak. Don't know how you can overfill the water heater.
mhilley is offline   Reply With Quote