Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2016, 09:51 AM   #1
Jim M
 
2012 23' FB International
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 11
furnace not working

When i turn on thermostat furnace blower blows out cold air for about 3-4 minutes and then stops. Two months ago, when I last used furnace, I noticed that the mode display of the dometic thermostat read a nonsense word instead of "auto" but it still worked fine. It still shows the same nonsense' but doesn't work as I first mentioned. Any suggestions? Thermostat problem or furnace problem?
__________________

__________________
Jcmohle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 10:07 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
RamblinManGa's Avatar

 
2016 28' Pendleton
Currently Looking...
Scottsdale , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 802
Images: 2
Hi from AZ. . . your problem is. . . the warranty just ran out ! Amazing how the furnace knew that, eh ? Seriously, I always check myself with the easy stuff first. . . propane is ON, propane tank is NOT empty, stove top lights (i.e. line not airlocked), no blown fuses. just thinking out loud here. . . good luck, Craig
__________________

__________________
WBCCI 2851,4CU
RamblinManGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 10:38 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Al and Missy's Avatar

 
2002 30' Classic S/O
Melbourne Beach , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,617
I would say that since the furnace blower runs, the thermostat is OK. After you check the obvious items listed by RamblinMan, there is a "sail switch" in the airflow inside the furnace. If the airflow doesn't actuate it due to it being stuck or defective, the gas doesn't turn on. If the gas doesn't turn on and the furnace doesn't heat up, another safety mechanism turns the blower off. I've never had this problem, but search on here for furnace sail switch or other furnace won't light threads and you should find something that shows you where it is and how to check it.

Al
__________________

"You cannot reason someone out of a position they have not been reasoned into"

Al, K5TAN and Missy, N4RGO
2002 Classic 30 Slideout
S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins
2001 Safari 25 RB Twin (Gone, but not forgotten)
WBCCI 1322, TAC FL-39, AIR 82265

Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 06:47 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
Kemblkr's Avatar
 
2003 22' International
South Bend , Indiana
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 78
Shine a flashlight into the exhaust pipe and make sure it isn't plugged with mudauber nest.


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
Kemblkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 06:58 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member
 
2014 23' FB Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 118
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 1
Checking the 'sail switch' is a good place to start, assuming propane is flowing to other appliances. It is inside the furnace cover on the exterior. If it's stuck, the moving air won't open it, allowing gas to flow.

As for the thermostat readout, I had exact same problem last year on a 2013 Flying Cloud. Except my garbled readout was in the setting that should have read "Furn". Didn't impact operation, though.

I emailed Dometic and they sent me the following instructions to reboot the thermostat and hopefully fix the problem. I never did get around to trying it, but here they are:

'Thank you for contacting Dometic. To do a system initialization, or a "reboot" or your thermostat, first turn it "off" (it will either have a blank display or show only the clock) At the same time, hold the Mode and Zone buttons. The screen will display "IniT" and all available zones. When that happens, release the Mode and Zone buttons and turn your thermostat back on. Sometimes, you need to do this a few times before your thermostat "finds" everything it's going to run. Hopefully, that should correct the gobbledygook that you're getting.'
__________________
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electic Jack not working - fuse good - manual not working ryandanz Jacks, Stabilizers, Lifting and Leveling 20 04-24-2016 11:04 AM
Front interior light not working, middle and rear working? jonnyo Lights - Interior & Exterior 4 04-03-2016 10:16 PM
Dometic heater zone 2 not working on furnace, not hot on HP sfgirl General Repair Forum 13 11-06-2015 02:21 PM
Furnace not working after several problem solving attempts Rikh Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 3 11-24-2010 04:58 PM
HELP - my furnace is not working Mightymite Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 10-27-2010 02:33 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.