Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2014, 09:33 AM   #1
one of those
 
Gringo's Avatar
 
2011 27 FB International
'03 F250 PSD , Airstream summers, Catalac winters
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,091
fresh water tank sensor

Did the 2011 FB 27 Intl come with a fresh water tank level sensor? The MicrofPulse status panel has a light and label on it for Fresh Water, but it's never illuminated since we bought the trailer new in 2011. Now we're boondocking a lot, and I'd like to be able to tell how much water we have left. I had assumed that the trailer was shipped without a sensor, but now I'm wondering if it might have one and there's a problem with it. Anyone know whether these trailers have level sensors on the fresh tank?
__________________

__________________
A Blog from the Devil's Triangle
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Gringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 09:36 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Landrum's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB International
Little Rock , Arkansas
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 591
I think so. Our 2011 23fb had a fresh water sensor. Sounds like your sensor is not working for some reason. Have you tried to recalibrate the system?


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
Landrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 09:41 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,410
Images: 5
First, pull off the face plate on the panel and check for a connection issue on the phone type plug(s). Also, if you have access to the sensor (look for an access hole in the floor where the water fill hose passes through) check for a good connection there.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:16 AM   #4
one of those
 
Gringo's Avatar
 
2011 27 FB International
'03 F250 PSD , Airstream summers, Catalac winters
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,091
Okay, I checked the back of the panel, and the phone cable is plugged in well there. Found the other end where it comes out of the chasing tube, with the other tank sensor wires. They each plug into their own little inline junction boxes, and then continue to the sensors. I can run my hand down to the sensor on the tank, it's all intact. I tried unplugging and replugging the sensor wire and connectors at the junction. No change. I swapped the gray tank and fresh tank sensor wires, and the status display shows the correct gray water level reading on the Fresh water LED so I know the LED is good. It also lights up completely during the individual status displays. It just seems I get no power through, or signal from, the fresh water sensor circuit. It did not light up the gray water LED when I plugged the fresh water sensor into the gray water junction. Is this indicative of a bad sensor? I would guess it's open, rather than shorted?
__________________
A Blog from the Devil's Triangle
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Gringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:37 AM   #5
one of those
 
Gringo's Avatar
 
2011 27 FB International
'03 F250 PSD , Airstream summers, Catalac winters
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,091
well, I screwed up. Like a dummy, I went into calibration mode. When I got to the step that says to make sure the tanks are empty and push the button to set the emptry level, I knew I was screwed. I'm sitting here boondoocking, trying to get a fresh water sensor to work. Now the entire status display is useless. I can find no way to abort the calibration proceedure, and of course I can't empty and fill the tanks to complete the calibration. So now I have no data on any of the tanks, or I suppose, the battery level either. Let this be a warning....don't enter calibration mode unless you are sitting someplace where you can fill and empty all three tanks. I.e. you have 120 gallons of water to waste, in my case. And I don't.
__________________
A Blog from the Devil's Triangle
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Gringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:45 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,410
Images: 5
There is a way to abort....but I can't remember!!!!!! Not in manual IIRC.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:46 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,410
Images: 5
I believe you have isolated it to a bad sensor, if I follow your diagnostics correctly. Stand by, let me go look if I wrote down the abort procedure.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:46 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Goal15's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,673
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gringo View Post
well, I screwed up. Like a dummy, I went into calibration mode. When I got to the step that says to make sure the tanks are empty and push the button to set the emptry level, I knew I was screwed. I'm sitting here boondoocking, trying to get a fresh water sensor to work. Now the entire status display is useless. I can find no way to abort the calibration proceedure, and of course I can't empty and fill the tanks to complete the calibration. So now I have no data on any of the tanks, or I suppose, the battery level either. Let this be a warning....don't enter calibration mode unless you are sitting someplace where you can fill and empty all three tanks. I.e. you have 120 gallons of water to waste, in my case. And I don't.

Ouch
__________________
Dana and Olga
2006 Safari 23
2011 Tundra Double Cab
Goal15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:59 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,410
Images: 5
Well, I didn't write it down!!! I got it from a thread on this forum, but I have no idea which one. Sorry.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 11:05 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,410
Images: 5
Here it is!!!! Post #93

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f163...n-14877-7.html
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 12:01 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar

 
2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,223
This past weekend I attempted to recalibrate my black water tank because it read only 3/4 full when the level was up almost to the toilet flange. I used the individual tank procedure. I already had a couple of gallons in the so proceeded to calibrate and fill it up with the black water flush. Before I got to the step to press the status after the empty I started to fill the tank. Oops. I couldn't get it to reset. I turned the monitor off etc. I was totally confused as it still was in calibration mode. I set it to individual black water and continued to fill it to 1" below the rubber seal and then pressed the status button and it seemed to finish calibration and return to normal mode. The tank read full and when I emptied the tank it read empty. Luckily none of the other tanks calibration seemed to be affected. The calibration steps aren't the confusing part its the explanation of the status lights after each step. They didn't seem to coincide with what I was seeing. I was pretty confused. What a terrible system. I took a lot of 5 gallon buckets of black water to the my house's toilet that day.

I'm printing off the reset instructions and adding it to the manual.

Here is the reset procedure cut'n pasted from the post mentioned above:

I recently had to replace a sensor and obtained the "reboot" instructions from the Catcon manufacturer. Following are the instructions to get it out of calibration mode and back into normal operation: (Incidentally, the advice about being sure the phone-type contacts are clean is very appropriate. They can become corroded and you might even have to cut off the existing one and install a new one; the tools are available for around $10 at Ace, Lowe's, etc.)


Turn the monitor on.
Monitor should flash all LED green 5 times and then stop with all LED green.

Press and release the status button 1 time. Monitor display should be FW,GW,BW lit Green or Yellow and the Empty LED should be lit Green.

The next step is a little tricky so please read all of this step before you give it a try. Press and release the status button 1 time and watch the LED’s. As soon as the Empty LED goes out and the 1/8 LED lights press and release the Status button repeatedly until only the 1/8 LED is lit on the monitor. When only the 1/8 LED is lit stop. The monitor will now reboot back in the normal monitor mode with your previous calibration values. If while you are attempting this the 1/8 LED goes out and the LED lights you will need to stop and turn the monitor off and try again.

Thanks

Kelvin
__________________
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 12:08 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,410
Images: 5
I also have discovered something....I think....time will tell. Completely by accident, I recalibrated the system while disconnected from shore power, as I was testing my battery capacity to also calibrate my trimetric. While on 12v power only, I got accurate levels on all 3 tanks!!!! And it has been dead nuts accurate for a couple months now. I am wondering if the Micropulse does not like 13.6 volts while calibrating?????? I was at about 12.5v during the last cal.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 12:26 PM   #13
one of those
 
Gringo's Avatar
 
2011 27 FB International
'03 F250 PSD , Airstream summers, Catalac winters
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,091
catcom replied!! Within two hours. Nice response time. They agree it's a sensor, and under warranty. And here I was, all ready to start complaining.
__________________
A Blog from the Devil's Triangle
http://2gringos.blogspot.com/
Gringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 12:57 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar

 
2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,223
Is the FW sensor easily accessible? You said you can get your hand down to it. The sensor is at the bottom of the tank can it be unthreaded by hand?

Kelvin
__________________

__________________
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh water tank sensor mprokop87 Argosy Motorhomes 14 02-20-2014 12:51 PM
Fresh water sensor location - '06 Safari SailorSteve Fresh Water Systems 0 03-29-2011 02:13 PM
Fresh water tank: Level sensor wires Keyair Fresh Water Systems 6 12-19-2010 12:12 AM
Fresh Water Sensor Failure movin-in Fresh Water Systems 7 07-09-2010 10:58 PM
Water tank Sensor locations..... leefields Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures 1 02-17-2006 12:16 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.