Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-10-2003, 09:09 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1978 25' Tradewind
Metro Phoenix , Arizona
Angry Freakin' parts prices!

I'm relatively new to the TT thing, seeing as how I don't have my trailer yet, and I've just had a pop-up for a number of years.

But dang! The prices people get for parts! Something any fool can plainly see is worth about a buck goes for $9.95!

We need a list of alternate sources for some of this stuff. Like "RV toilet paper" - a buck a roll?!? What's up with that? There's gotta be some cheap stuff that dissolves just as well...

Black tank deodorizer... there's gotta be some bulk chemicals that you can buy for $.50 a gallon and mix up your own.

Let's gang up on this issue. It really needs some focus!
drboyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 09:22 AM   #2
Just a member

1978 28' Argosy 28
Lutz , Florida
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64
Some folks swear by the rv toilet paper, I just use the same stuff I do at home. Never had a problem with it breaking up. Just need to be sure your tank is full enough when you dump.

The tank deoderizer is a tricky issue. With all of the new rules regarding no formeldahyde in the sewers or septic system you really can get by with an enzymatic powder. I use RV Trine. It is dry in a packe and one packet works for as long as it take me to fill and dump. I have considered getting the same stuff that they use to boost a septic system and see if it would work. One other option is to dump daily.

There are many parts that will shock you even more, like the early and mid 70's door latches that run close to 500.00