Old 07-16-2016, 07:00 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Alexandria , Virginia
Dometic Refrigerator Operation

Fellow Streamers!

I have a 2015 FC 25ft. FB. I'm also an obsessive reader of operation manuals; and probably need psychotherapy for the need to completely understand how something works😉! I'm also very new to this experience, but loving every minute of this grand experiment of my middle age. Now the question. The fridge has three buttons, on and off, auto/gas mode selector button, and temperature set button. It also is equipped with an automatic energy selector control system, which again, the book tells me; selects "the most suitable energy source available. ( the use of "suitable" leads me to ask many follow up questions, scenarios with the thought process, "how does it choose, what is "suitable?" ).

The Dometic manual has a listing of various led displays, and what they mean. 1. Auto Mode : AC operation: one indicator light on
2. Manual LP gas operation: one indicator light

3. Auto mode AND LP gas operation. Two indicator lights on. THIS IS WHAT I CAN'T UNDERSTAND. I do understand that in this modality, I'm running on gas. But please help me physics professors, how can you have both led lights illuminated when you have a selector button that you either "push in" for AC, or "leave out" for LP.? How can you be in both auto mode and gas operation at the same time?

I'm currently hooked up to shore power for an extended period of time. Because of low voltage in the park in sweltering heat, I've switched back and forth between AC and LP to conserve power for the air conditioner. But how you are in AUTO mode and LP gas operation at the same time is still not sinking into my 61-year old brain. I've called Dometic. They can't explain it to me either. Thanks in advance for all of you engineers and experienced folks in advance!

Patti G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 07:09 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1974 27' Overlander