Old 07-13-2013, 10:49 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1966 24' Tradewind
Conifer , Colorado
Diagnosis Needed: Ground Fault Trips

I plug into 15 amp shore power to get ready for our trip and now my ground fault breaker trips. What next? I'm not good at diagnosing electrical problems. Maybe one of you have had this problem before.

We returned from a trip to Denver two weeks ago. We ran the AC almost non stop in that 90 degree sunshine. I parked the trailer at home, plugged in, and unloaded the next day. The trailer has been unplugged since then.

I have unplugged everything downstream of the main breaker; frige, microwave, lamps, heater, coffee maker, phone charger, etc. I have turned off the 12v circuit. I have switched off the AC breakers. The ground fault still trips after about 2 minutes with the main breaker on. I have good power coming to the trailer. My unit has one of those goofy cord reels, meaning the power must go through the rotary brushes to get to the main breaker.

We had 2" of rain last night. Wet conditions have not been a problem before. But it might now be a factor.

Should I try replacing the ground fault breaker? Where else should I look?

David

Old 07-13-2013, 11:01 AM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
It trips for a reason. Is this breaker on house or on the AS?

My guess is water got into hose reel. So swapping breaker is not the solution.

These breakers "sense" that the power "leg"
Is allowing current to go to ground. This can happen if you accidentally touch the power while grounded. So is a key safety feature!

cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 11:15 AM   #3
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Edit.. Delete post.
Old 07-13-2013, 11:17 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Merkel , Texas