Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-02-2015, 07:17 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2008 532 International
New Braunfels , Texas
Cleaning Questions

We got our dream trailer on Sunday, 30 Aug. So pleased! She's a beauty and we've already named her. After our Mothers. Virginia Joy is our 2008 25' International CCD Ocean Breeze.

We're in the process of cleaning every inch go a sheen. Have some questions.

What type of cleaned is best to use on the windows, both tinted as well as clear. Anything you definitely do NOT want to use?

Is the roof sturdy enough for a 200 lb adult to climb on top to clean the vents and skylights?

Any tips appreciated.

Thanks!
StreamGlider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 08:00 PM   #2
RAH
3 Rivet Member

2013 30' Flying Cloud
Cincinnati , Ohio
StreamGlider, congrats on your new Airstream and welcome to the forums!
I am not an expert but here is what I do:

Exterior: Glare auto wash (when you feel like waxing your Airstream, use the Glare auto wax.) Always wash or wax with the grain of the aluminum, never across the grain. Generally this is along the trailer front to back.

The reason I mention this is the only time I wash my windows is when I wash the trailer, and sometimes I wash the inside of the windows with the Glare auto wash also. Dry with terry cloth.

I do not use Windex anywhere in the Airstream - it is not good for the aluminum so I don't get it anywhere near the trailer.

Now for the roof, I have never been onto my roof. I am afraid of falling off. The sides are curved, after all. There is a technique of only walking on the ribs that can bear weight, and not in between them. But I just stay off the roof. Sometimes when washing the trailer I try to get to the roof as far as I can lean over, other times I just leave it.