Old 02-01-2016, 06:39 PM   #1
A2F
1 Rivet Member

1955 22' Flying Cloud
El Dorado Hills , California
Question Are these parts original to the 1955 Flying Cloud?

Hello fellow enthusiasts!

I have a newly acquired 1955 Flying Cloud that I believe has mostly original parts. I am still learning about my lovely tin can and hoping I can pick your brains about what should stay. I do want to give it a bit of a face lift to fit my taste, but at the same time I want to keep the trailer in tact as much as possible.

Since I am new and will most likely have a lot of questions... what is the best way to use the forum? I know the first thing is to try and find your answer among the threads, but if I can't find it, do you stick to one thread you have created or do you start a new one with each question? - Thanks!

I have attached images of the questionable parts.

1. Bumper - It has a plastic hose inside.. not sure what that is about? I think they all have this metal bumper, but my bf says it doesn't look factory made.

2. Metal box on the side that covers some sort of tank or heater? Not sure if it is for the sink or stove (still need to do more research to find out what is where haha). But does it need to be that box thing or could it be a piece flush with the outside skin?

3. I don't have a pic of this.. but there is a magazine rack made of wood (same as the cabinets) above the dresser in the back by the bed.

4. Spice Rack

5. Dixie cup holder and paper towel holder. While the Dixie cups have some charm in their own right, I kind of want it to go.

6. Furnace - not a great pic and also missing the knob. If this is original, does anyone know where I can get a replacement knob? We still need to see if it is working.

7. What I believe is a hand towel rack?

8. Coleman kerosene lamp on kitchen wall. I am confident this is original, but can't possibly be safe. What does everyone typically replace this with?

9. Curtains - red and white checkered