Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-07-2019, 12:17 PM   #1

1983 27' Excella
Lake City , Florida
Red face Alternate timing mark

I have a 1984 270 with 454 chevy. I am new to A/S motorhomes. I had the Rochester Quad. rebuilt and am trying to replace the distributor. Like others say, the front timing mark is not visible. I cannot find a timing "tab" on or near the oil pan. Now, I have found a pointer at the front driver side corner of the engine as part of the cast iron block is this the alternate mark? I want to use the #8 plug at TDC to time the engine. Do I set the damper mark on this pointer and install the dist. rotor pointing to # 8 plug wire? Then use a timing light from underneath with a helper turning the dist. to 4 degrees before TDC? When trying the above the dist. will not seat in its bottom groove. What say you? Thanks and this is my first post.
HYOSILVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 10:31 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1963 28' Ambassador
Vintage Kin Owner
Northern VT , Vermont