Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-07-2007, 06:30 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2019 27' International
2014 25' International
2006 23' Safari SE
Boulder City , Nevada
Airstreams and 1960s Corvettes

I am a Newbie Airstream trailer owner, so I do not have decades of maintenance experience to help other Newbies' like myself on repairs. But, after two years and 20,000 miles in our 2006 Airstream, there is so much the 1960's Corvettes and Airstreams have in common.

When you leave town, bring a tool box.

The Corvette is one solid fiber glass body and the Airstream is one solid aluminum riveted body.

Two passengers and the Corvette is over weight. Two passengers and the Marathon tires are over weight limits when you want warranty replacement.

The Corvette and Airstream are both classic American icons.

You will quickly need to know how to repair both shortly after ownership.

You need a carrying bag for repair manuals for both.

One can be fuel injected. The other has a tow vehicle that had better be...

You will know both: inside, outside, on top and underneath like the back of your hand and wrench sizes by memory.

The 1960's Corvette you restore when you have time. The Airstream you restore as you travel and OJT.

I love them both. I could not afford to keep the Corvettes and I am getting to that point with my Airstream. Maybe I need to buy a new boat to work on in the future. My wife's father says boats are also something else I can throw money into... I was thinking he meant as an investment, but I am not sure about that now. He did sell his boat.