Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-10-2018, 05:24 AM   #1

1969 31' Sovereign
Benton , Illinois
Advice on restoring

Hello my wife and I just bought a 1969 31’ sovereign. It has been gutted frame has been sandblasted and por-15 sprayed on frame. And last the floor has been replaced. I need some advice on everything from air conditioner replacement , checking for leaks, insulation, plumbing, and interior.We would like to use car siding.(not sure if we need to use fiberglass end pieces). Also appliance recommendations. We paid $3000 for this camper and drive 2 1/2 hrs to pick it up so I hope we did ok on the price . The only thing I’m aware that it’s missing is the belly pans.

I’m a mech/ electrician at work, and have done a lot of remodeling and carpenter work, but this is our first camper and I know nothing about best practices when restoring one. So if you guys could steer m in the right direction I would appreciate it. I don’t want to cut corners and spend the money where it counts. Thanks again
Jared1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 06:13 AM   #2
1 Rivet Member

1961 26' Overlander
Cayce , South Carolina
Jared
I am tinkering on a 1961 outlander. i would read all you can on this forum and here vintageairstream.com . good luck and enjoy the journey.
Buzz1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 08:02 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Your post is so broad I think it is very difficult to advise you. I recommend you compartmentalize tasks and do new posts on that subject. For example you might start with the axles. If the axles are original they certainly need replacement.