Old 06-28-2007, 07:36 PM   #1

Half Moon Bay , California
1960 Globetrotter Project

Hello everyone! I am new here but I am hoping your opinions will be of help to me. I am currently considering buying a 26' 1960 Globetrotter that has been gutted with the exception of the bathroom. The body has a couple of dents and the frame has a bent side member. The owner is asking for $1000, but I can probably talk him down a bit. I am an electrician with a background in carpentry and my father is a carpenter with over 30 years of experience. I have no problem undertaking a rebuilding project with this trailer, but I am not sure if this is the right price or trailer to buy.

The trailer is ready for a fresh start. Cabinets and everything would need to be built. Modern wiring, plumbing and appliances can be installed... Any opinions? Here is a link to the listing for the owners description.

Thank you, I really appreciate your input!

Old 06-28-2007, 11:54 PM   #2

Apologies. I meant a 26' 1960 Overlander.

Old 06-29-2007, 12:32 AM   #3
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Colville , Washington
Personally I think that's too high for what you're getting. That's basically a shell (in need of repair), floor (in need of repair), and no interior.

Take a pass on that one and keep looking. The money you would spend on it, would be better off being spent on a slightly more expensive one in need of less work.
2001 Honda XR650R
Currently Looking...for an Avion Truck Camper (or a Classic Argosy MoHo)

"In regione caecorum rex est luscus." GP
GreatPumpkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 08:21 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1956 22' Flying Cloud
Durango , Colorado
The big concern I have are the big dents - those would be hard to remove. I paid 2500 for mine and had to gut it - otherwise 1000 does not sound all that bad to me..

You can see my project here