Old 04-04-2014, 10:42 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2008 19' Bambi
Largo , Florida
want to keep the original brakes, what do I need to do?

I'm a newbie. I just bought my first airstream, `1976 Overlander 27' with original brake system.

It's my first trailer but my family has had them forever and I'm familiar with many things but second hand.

My intended towing car has a hitch but not yet the electricals setup so that's high on my list.

I'm really unfamiliar with the brake system of the 76 Airstream but I am assuming that I need something done to my car in order to hook it up. What do I need to do to the car to connect to the system and what's the brake connection needed?

The standard connection to brakes, turn signals is easy, but the trailer brakes I hear on the airstream is a different story now.

Elijah

Old 04-04-2014, 11:19 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
If it has electric brakes you will have no problems, just the need for an electric brake controller in your tow vehicle and the connections to the trailer. Very standard and most any RV dealer can help you if you don't want to do it yourself.

If the Airstream has vacuum disk brakes (which was an option about that time) good luck. From what I know, the parts are essentially unavailable and the hookup to the tow vehicle systems are almost impossible.

A '76 Airstream probably is in need of new axles anyway, and if you are going to keep it and restore it, you can get new axles and full brakes at the same time, and be safe and current on the running gear systems.

Old 04-04-2014, 12:03 PM   #3
Wise Elder

2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Hi Elijah

Idroba's advice is essentially correct

Some photos will help us determine what you have.