Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-22-2007, 01:48 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1958 22' Flying Cloud
Saint Helena , California
Electric Brakes - Are they working?

I'm new to this towing thing (58 Flying Cloud). I tried the adjustment/test on the new Tekonsha brake controller where you get a straight flat road and dial the thing up to get the brakes to lock up at low speed. Never happened. When I slide the switch all the way, I only get a slight pull-back from the trailer. Is this right? If not, how do you check the brakes to see if they are working properly?

I was told, when I bought the trailer (AS dealer) and they installed the controller, that everything had passed the safety check (for which I paid). I'm just not confident that the brakes are fully functional.
bevman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 02:29 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
No. You should be able to lock the wheels at low speed.

Considering the age of the trailer the first think I would do is Jack one wheel off the ground. While you spin that wheel have someone manualy hit the brakes. The wheel should Slam to a stop. If not I would remove that brake drum and see if greese has leaked on the shoes. If there is no sign of greese look at the face of the magnet. You should see a pattern of small whole in the face of the magnet. These are ware indicaters. If they are worn away and the magnet has worn into the magnet coil, wires showning, the magnets need replacing.