Old 11-22-2011, 11:50 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1968 28' Ambassador
Debary , Florida
Do I have to use Kelsey Hayes???

I have a 1968 Ambassador that I am trying to get road worthy so my wife and I can use it a few time over the winter here in FL before I start a major tear down and restore in 2012. Just got new tires and wheel bearing on as well as replaced the trailer connector with a new blade type. I picked up a cheap brake controller at “Wally World” and the brakes seem to be functioning but do need some adjustment.

Here is my question upon review of the manual they state you should only use a Kelsey Hayes controller. For short term temporary use is it ok to use a non Kelsey Hayes controller or does it not really matter.

Second question: Does anyone have a recommendation for a brake controller for long term use.

Thanks in advance for the advice.

Old 11-22-2011, 12:14 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1979 23' Safari
1954 29' Liner
Orange , California
I believe that Kelsey Hayes is no longer in business.

Bill

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvpfl View Post
I have a 1968 Ambassador that I am trying to get road worthy so my wife and I can use it a few time over the winter here in FL before I start a major tear down and restore in 2012. Just got new tires and wheel bearing on as well as replaced the trailer connector with a new blade type. I picked up a cheap brake controller at “Wally World” and the brakes seem to be functioning but do need some adjustment.

Here is my question upon review of the manual they state you should only use a Kelsey Hayes controller. For short term temporary use is it ok to use a non Kelsey Hayes controller or does it not really matter.

Second question: Does anyone have a recommendation for a brake controller for long term use.

Thanks in advance for the advice.

Bill Kerfoot, WBCCI/VAC/CAC/El Camino Real Unit #5223
Just my personal opinion
1973 Dodge W200 PowerWagon, 1977 Lincoln Continental, 2014 Dodge Durango