Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-05-2013, 08:48 PM   #1
Hillbilly Hagrid

1973 29' Ambassador
Stanford , Kentucky
Brake size?

I just purchased a new P3 Brake Controller and it confirmed what I already knew...Brakes shorted...I haven't had proper(or any) brakes for the last 10 -15k miles and I leave Friday for Edisto Beach/Charleston and Savannah...when I get back and before Springsteam I'm going to replace everything under it brake wise...I replaced bearings last year and adjusted brakes but its been a long haul since then...my question is what size are my brakes? do I just pull a wheel and measure the backing plate? I plan on purchasing new loaded self-adjusting backing plates probably from Inland RV...but I also want to replace the drums as I had to "retap" a few holes last time I repacked bearings..but I only see 10 inch drums on their page... I have a 1973 29ft Ambassador and any info on purchasing right parts first time would be awesome.....Thanks
Old 03-05-2013, 09:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1979 23' Safari
1954 29' Liner
Orange , California
Unless someone replaced the axles and the brakes with 10" you have 12" electric drums.

Bill

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyMoonshine View Post