Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2008, 06:10 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
Aerowood's Avatar

 
1971 21' Globetrotter
Arvada , Colorado
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,840
Brake Circuit Protection

Is there any kind of circuit protection on the normal brakes before the controller and on the break away switch circuit?
__________________

__________________
Aerowood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 06:32 PM   #2
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
THE F-250 has a 15A or 30A fuse upstream of the Brake controller. I am pretty sure my trailer has a breaker upstream of the break-a-way switch.
__________________

__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 07:03 PM   #3
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
Use a 20a circuit breaker going to the breakaway switch, unless it has three axles, then use a 30a (with larger wire)
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 07:36 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Aerowood's Avatar

 
1971 21' Globetrotter
Arvada , Colorado
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,840
Thanks I'll put the circuit breakers in. Do you know what a single axle 12" brake draws?
__________________
Aerowood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 07:39 PM   #5
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
About 3 amps per magnet.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 08:21 PM   #6
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aerowood
Thanks I'll put the circuit breakers in. Do you know what a single axle 12" brake draws?
Size the breaker for the wire. Not the load. Of cource be reasonable. If you are using 10 Ga wire I would not put a 50A breaker on the line. 15-20 should sork fine if the wire is 14GA or larger.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:45 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Aerowood's Avatar

 
1971 21' Globetrotter
Arvada , Colorado
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,840
That's what I'm trying to figure out. I have nothing right now so I need to pick the wire size. I think I'll go with 12GA then with a 15amp C/B. Thanks
__________________
Aerowood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:52 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
NevadaGeo's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Genoa , Nevada
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
My hydraulic/electric system required 10 gauge, and 30 amp fuse. Probably can find out by checking with brake company.
__________________
NevadaGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 06:39 AM   #9
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
If you plan on using a circuit breaker on your towable's brake circuit, be sure that it is the 'auto-reset' type. If you use a fuse or normal CB and the circuit fails......YOU HAVE NO BRAKES!!!!!!!!!!!!

With the auto-reset type, a fault will click the breaker off, but it will reset and click off again...allowing some current to pass thru to your brakes so you still get some stopping power. With a blown fuse YA DON'T GET NUTTIN'!!!!!!!
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 09:53 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Aerowood's Avatar

 
1971 21' Globetrotter
Arvada , Colorado
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,840
I was planning on using a circuit breaker but had not though of an auto resetting, thanks for the heads up.

Kip
__________________
Aerowood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 10:06 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Over59's Avatar
 
1959 26' Overlander
Putnam , Connecticut
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,064
Images: 37
I have separate auto reset breaker on each axle. I will be adding in parallel a smaller amp fuse wherein a light red light comes on if it blows. That way I will know I need to check the brakes on that axle while the auto reset maintains some breaking power. I don't trust I would feel the difference in a normal stopping situation.
__________________
Over59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 12:18 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,809
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Over59
I have separate auto reset breaker on each axle. I will be adding in parallel a smaller amp fuse wherein a light red light comes on if it blows. That way I will know I need to check the brakes on that axle while the auto reset maintains some breaking power. I don't trust I would feel the difference in a normal stopping situation.
Very interesting to see someone else thinks as I do. I had just suggested to another posting that they install seperate fused and indicater lights on each brake location as a safty/indicater. Caught a bit of flack for it but glad you have an understanding of electronics and agree.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 02:51 PM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Limited
Dade City , Georgia
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
I am replacing the brake assemblies on my 1984 Airstream Excella. I just ordered brake assemblies that are rated for 7000 lb. Axels. Is this "overkill" and will they work? thanks!
__________________
Bill C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 08:23 PM   #14
1 Rivet Member
 
1984 31' Limited
Dade City , Georgia
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
I am looking into re-placing the electric brake assemblies on my 1984 Airstream Excella which has three axles. The larger magnets will consume about 5 amps each x 6 wheels which equals 30 amps total in my mind. The brake circuit, I believe, has only a 20 amp fuse in the 12 volt fuse panel (or, isn't there any fuse at all in the wiring to the electric brakes?). I am thinking that this may be "overload". Are there any experts out there who may know the answer to this problem? thanks!
__________________

__________________
Bill C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Walbernize UV protection Silvertwinkie Our Community 2 06-05-2011 10:40 AM
UV Protection for new A/C JimGolden Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 17 03-28-2008 01:13 PM
7 pin connector protection Sky Winterizing, Storage, Carports & Covers 11 10-24-2007 01:58 PM
Blow out protection Barbara Peerenboom On The Road... 11 08-12-2004 05:03 PM
Heat protection ALANSD Airstream Motorhome Forums 14 11-03-2002 03:55 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.