Old 06-29-2016, 08:19 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
2014 25' FB International
Metuchen , New Jersey
Why Michelin tires?

I've read a lot of the postings here of people switching out their new tires for Michelin brand tires. Why? Do these tires make that much of a difference?

Do you personally replace the tire or take it to a service center for the switch out?

GenXair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:22 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Vintage Kin Owner
North central , Florida
Pretty hard to replace your own tires. I take mine to a service center. Anything is better than the ST tires. Mich, Firestone, etc. I use LT tires in 16 inch.

1984 Avion 30p 9.1 meter. 2006 Dodge 3500 cummins srw short bed crew cab.
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:31 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
2006 25' Safari
Chattanooga , Tennessee
I have been using Michelin tires since the 1950s. All but a few times I have used other brands the results were poor. I can't recall any blowouts with Michelins. A blow out on an Airstream trailer can cause thousands of dollars in damages. I put on the Michelins as insurance against that.
Don and Lou----Don posting
'06 Safari 25 LS
'97 Chevy Suburban K2500 Diesel
TN, Greenest State in the Land of the Free
" America is not a place;it is a road." Mark Twain
Tn Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:46 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2016 28' Pendleton
Currently Looking...
Scottsdale , Arizona
Hi from AZ. . . I've run Michelins for years on cars, trucks & a class C motorhome, but they are not perfect. I've had one set recalled, & the only blowout in 14k miles of sketchy roads to Alaska and back was a Michelin on my TV ! The Carlilses on my FC28 were fine.. . . just sayin'. . . .regards, Craig
WBCCI 2851,4CU
RamblinManGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:59 AM   #5
Rivet Master
2015 23' FB Flying Cloud
Walnut Creek , California