Old 06-16-2010, 11:12 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2009 19' International
Calgary , Alberta
Tire indentations

Hmmm, all this talk of "bulging marathons" has me a bit concerned about this feature on one of our tires:

Note the indentation between the R and A. To me it looks like a seam resulting from the manufacturing process but I'm no expert. These tires were new with our '09 unit, and it's been there from the beginning. I'd estimate we have about 5000km of towing on them. Anything to worry about or is this normal?

Old 06-16-2010, 12:02 PM   #2
_

. , .
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeheel View Post
...Note the indentation between the R and A. To me it looks like a seam resulting from the manufacturing process but I'm no expert...
good photo free'

and normal overlap/ends of the belts/wraps ...

follow the "tire tech" links in these post for more info...

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f438...tml#post556178

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f438...tml#post754815

cheers
2air'

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 03:33 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1987 29' Sovereign
Sparta , Tennessee
Send a message via Yahoo to wingfoot321
Sidewall bulges are not necessarily a sign of trouble.

If the tire has an indentation running across the sidewall from bead to road, this is where the ply is spliced. The overlap of the splice makes a slightly stronger spot in the ply and resists the air pressure pushing out.

There are two plies, therefore two splices on each sidewall, inside and outside of the tire. A knowledgeable tire person can locate the splices. Sometimes they would rather sell you a new tire.

This can become a bit more complicated if there is a "heavy spot again running from bead to road" where the sidewall itself was overlapped too much creating an outward bump. Also easy for a tire person to diagnose.

Neither of these conditions contribute to a tire failure.