Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-11-2015, 10:37 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
North Vancouver , British Columbia
Run Flats

What do you think about Run Flat Tires for the trailer? I have never had a vehicle with them so I have no experience on how they perform in the event of a flat.
AS Wantabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 04:55 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
There are currently no run flat tires available for travel trailers.
Old 01-12-2015, 05:40 AM   #3
CapriRacer

I'm in the , US
As Overlander pointed out, there aren't any RunFlat tires available for travel trailers - not in the correct size, nor with enough load carrying capacity in a different size.

Because of the way this works, RunFlat tires are generally high performance, fast wearing tires. They tend to be hard riding - partially because they are high performance tires and partially because of the stiff sidewall that a RunFlat tire requires. They tend to wear quickly - partially because they are high performance tires and partially because they are OE (Original Equipment) tires where wear is not an important criteria.

They tend to be low profile - partially because they are high performance tires and partially because high profile doesn't work as well with the construction needed to make the tire a RunFlat.

They require a different wheel to work properly - one with an enhanced safety hump to keep the tire on the wheel when the tire is completely deflated.

They are also require a Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS), because you can not tell when a tire has been deflated.

The net effect is that RunFlat tires are only offered as OE (Original Equipment) and OE/Replacement (the same tires as the original, but offered in the replacement market) - and there aren't a lot of vehicle manufacturers specifying RunFlat tires on their vehicles.