Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Tires
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-12-2015, 07:47 PM   #1
EEC
1 Rivet Member

1969 31' Sovereign
Dover Foxcroft , Maine
Newbie bring vintage trailer home

This weekend I'll be starting the process of bringing home my 1969 31' Sovereign that has been sitting since 1995. It looks to be in very good shape inside and out (but wait til you see the picture of the two trees growing right up along side it). I have been reading many of the posts especially regarding wheels, axles and brakes but this is my first time with this rig. I feel comfortable doing mechanical work. The TV is a 2012 1500 Ram.

Based just on the age alone I know the tires must be replaced. Don't know the condition of the wheels (rims) so please help me decide on the following since the budget is limited right now to just getting this home safely.

It seems there is more or less a consensus that Michelin LT tires and 16" wheels are the preference.

Are the vintage wheels likely to be OK?

If they are (unless there's a real advantage to 16" tires) then I'll get Michelin MS2 LTX 225-75-15. Will these present any difficulty installing them on this trailer? Will 235's fit? Any advantage to this wider tire?

If the 15" wheels need to be replaced does it make sense to go to 16"? Will that size fit on the '69 Sovereign?

I will pack the bearings as best as possible and inspect the axles per the post by Inland RV. Haven't looked at either yet but from what I've read they are probably "good enough" for this 170 mile (including 135 interstate miles) trip. Comments? Max speed 60 - 65 mph OK?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Ed
EEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 09:37 PM   #2