Always learning

1972 29' Ambassador
1962 19' Globetrotter
1951 21' Flying Cloud
Central , Texas
Send a message via Yahoo to Top
Here is a good thread.

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f465...res-69297.html

Work is never done, so take time to play!
Top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 08:09 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
what size trailer? I run 15" LT tires on my trailer that weighs 5800 lbs on the axles. tires rated for 2000 each so there is plenty of capacity. I have about 50,000 on these with no problems. But I bought a heavier trailer, 32 feet, and could not find any LT 15" tires that gave me enough capacity with some safety margin, so I went with the ST tires.
Old 03-06-2011, 09:43 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member

1998 25' Safari
Buda , Texas
Bill M

Mine is 1998, 27', safari, 7300gvwr--never been on road with her. Need to replace tires before I do. I'm a newbie by the way.

Any suggestions
Old 03-06-2011, 10:12 AM   #5
Always learning

1972 29' Ambassador
1962 19' Globetrotter
1951 21' Flying Cloud
Central , Texas
Send a message via Yahoo to Top
Jerry,
I have a '72 Ambassador with #7,100 gvwr. When I buy new tires I am putting on these.

Work is never done, so take time to play!
Top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 10:51 PM   #6
1 Rivet Member

1991 32' Excella
Deltona , Florida
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top View Post
Jerry,
I have a '72 Ambassador with #7,100 gvwr. When I buy new tires I am putting on these.
I think trailer tires are a better bet due to the stiffer sidewalls to cut down on sway!

TIRE SPECIFICATIONS

Proper wheel selection is a very important component of your trailer gear system. When replacing your trailer tires and trailer rims it is critical that the proper size and load range be selected in order to match the load requirements of the trailer. The following characteristics are extremely important and should be thoroughly checked when replacing trailer tires.