Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Tires
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-07-2007, 11:21 PM   #41
Rivet Master

2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Just a few words

Hi, just a few words about what some of you have said. Shoes made in China. I work in the shop at a Ford dealer and need good, safe, and slip proof shoes; So I have been wearing Doc Martins. [Made in England] Now my last two pair of English Doc Martins are now made in China.
I also try to buy American, but if I limit myself to American made items, I would have nearly nothing. I just bought a pair of BAL tire chocks. [Made in China]
Tools, As a professional mechanic, I bought all high dollar, high quality tools; But for home / occasional use I can get by with cheaper tools.
As a tool dealer for eight years, [Mac Tools] I was embarrassed to know some of the tools we sold were from taiwon. Mostly hydraulic jacks and body shop tools and some air tools. But when my customers came out to my truck to purchase an air ratchet, $99.00 for foreign made, or $175.00 for American made. Most went for the cheaper one.
Wal-Mart. I personally don't like some of their practices, but they are here to stay. One example: Oatmeal dog shampoo [made by 8 in 1 ] sells for $12.95 in pet stores and when on sale you can find it for $9.95 but at Wal-Mart the same exact same thing sells $2.95 every day. I am going to retire soon and in my age group I feel we have paid excessively for everything though out our life time and I don't have the money to throw in the trash over the principal of Wal-Marts practices; So I will continue to shop there to buy the same product for much less money.