Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Tires
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-15-2011, 08:43 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2012 27' FB International
Fremont , California
Question Checking air pressure

I'm new to travel trailers in general, my Airstream is my first railer.

It's becoming a puzzle to me how to check and air my tires, in general I have a compresser at home but the trailer lives in a storage yard. I tried one truck stop with no luck at all.

I bought a tiny little 110V compressor that works fine, when I'm hooked up at a park to power I plug it into the external outlet and spend what seems like 20 minutes per tire. It's got me thinking about buying a generator and hauling around a heavy compressor in the back of my tow vehicle.

Is there someplace on the road that you know of where you can easily have access to a professional grade compressor?

https://polakoff.com/RamblinRose/
Our travel log
xo1rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 08:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Any truck stop will have air. You may have to go through the truck fuel line to get to it but most have a separate location for air.

Sears has several small compressors that will do fine at home. Any compressor with a tanks should do you.

Most important is the correct pressure. Check this chart for against your trailer weight.

http://www.goodyearrvtires.com/pdfs/rv_inflation.pdf

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 09:09 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Celina , Ohio