Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2002, 08:01 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Wheel Bearing?? - - or - - Brakes??

I have been towing travel trailers for more than 20 years, and this is my first experience with the unusual happenings with my '78 Argosy Minuet. A reputable shop (who has performed this service for me many times) repacked its wheel bearings and inspected the brakes in August after which I towed it 560 miles to Ace Fogdall RV for a complete systems checkup and repair. Saturday, I towed the Minuet back to my home near the Quad Cities in Illinois (200 miles) and experienced some strange problems. My first attribution was to brake trouble, but now I am not so sure. I am not mechanically inclined so must trust the professionals.

On the return trip from Cedar Falls, IA, each time the brakes were applied, there was a metalic bang followed by two jerks. I attributed this to three weeks of inactivity and rust in the drums - - my Overlander has been known to do this for as many as the first three stops after it has sat long enough to build up a rust coating on the drum surfaces. This didn't stop however, and was still present on the third and subsequent stops - - but I was to DuBuque, IA by then and closer to my home than Cedar Falls so stopped to check the hubs - - warm to the touch but not hot. Continued on stopping twice more to check hubs but not hot - - just warm to the touch. Was exhausted by the time I got home so didn't look at the trailer until today - - now I notice oil/grease stains on both the Argosy hub caps and on the wheel spider - - it is not oily/greasy to the touch but is a new stain.