Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-29-2007, 06:49 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1969 23' Safari
Grosse Ile , Michigan
Send a message via Yahoo to commander31
Yeah.....as a matter of fact....

(MODERATOR NOTE .... THESE POSTS WERE MOVED FROM A VERY OLD THREAD THAT WAS ON A DIFFERENT TOPIC)

You know, you're right, i didn't even look at the date on that original post...... gee that is indeed almost ancient history....

Let's see.... back in '02..... hmmm....I was still married... still had a head of hair.... I had much more sanity than I do now....(???) I could read without the aid of glasses, I didn't have an Airstream, I was much more....... and, and, etc...etc....

Oh jeez...enuff of this....

Anyways, being a newbie here, I have only read a few posts about these Dura Torque Axles.....and also having a 1969 Airstream (23' Safari) this piqued my interest.....

So much that after reading Andy's most informative post, and article on these axles, i found (some long ago hidden) motivation to battle this terrible Michigan bitter cold this morning (10 degrees) and fresh snow.... and head outside to look under my little tin can and check on the status of my axle "attitude"..... (brrrrr...sssshiver...!!)

Hmmm.....guess maybe I shoulda stayed inside, and enjoyed another cup of coffee.....

I see the axle "arms" on my 23' Safari are about completely horizontal...or as Andy called it... "zero degrees"..... I guess that is not good......Prolly not terrible, as i do not yet have a negative angle, as he indicated that would be a total deterioration of the axle rubber. But, also, I am noting that my Safari is completely empty, devoid of any supplies, staple items, clothes, toys, Acme Anvils, (doesn't EVERYONE carry one of these??) or water. Maybe when loaded, I may have that dreaded "negative angle"..... hmmm...