Old 09-02-2004, 08:09 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2017 28' International
Western , Oregon
Tire chains for AS

I'm new to towing, so this is probably a stupid question . We're planning a trip from Oregon to Kansas and back for 30 days from late Sept to late Oct. We'll be crossing over the Rockies twice, staying at Grand Tetons NP and Canyonlands NP. I want to be prepared for the worst weather, so am purcasing chains for my Avalanche. Is there a need for tire chains for the AS in snow and ice? I haven't seen any posts regarding this, so it appears no one has used tire chains on their trailer.

Jim

2017 28' Signature CCD

2017 GMC Denali HD Crew Cab 4x4
Blue Ox Sway Pro Hitch

WBCCI #3538
jordandvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 08:13 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 22' Safari
Armada , Michigan
Tire chains are for drive wheels. If it ices up and you're towing, pull over and stop, turn on the heater and wait it out. If you go down a hill you might find your CCD passing you.

John

Old 09-02-2004, 11:12 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

Many years ago I drove a semi truck for a trailer repair shop in Indianapolis in the winter. That winter we kept an inch or more of snow cover on for more than 100 days. They put chains on my tractor, and I would pick up and deliver trailers that didn't have chains on them. Whenever I would try to stop, the trailer would swing out and sweep 3 lanes beside me. After a few days I took the chains off. It is better to slide in a straight line, you only hit one thing at a time.

If you only have one set of chains and must use them, put them on the rear axle of the trailer. Chains on the tow vehicle and not the trailer is definitely unsafe. If you want to see how it will handle, disconnect the rear brakes on your car and try some panic stops in a wet parking lot.

John has the best advice, stop and wait it out. If it's too slick to pull the trailer comfortably, you won't enjoy trying to stop it at all.

Neal
Old 09-02-2004, 02:56 PM   #4