Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-21-2009, 10:04 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1972 25' Tradewind
Rockville , Maryland
Three inch rule

I'm just a newbie but picked up the three-inch rule somewhere: when you jack up the side of the trailer, the wheels should hang down about 3". Is this a valid rule of thumb?

md

Hey, while I'm at it, how and where do I post a picture to get help ID'ing my AS?
doctormark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 11:18 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1968 28' Ambassador
Cedaredge , Colorado
Not sure, I you trying to figure out if you need new axles?

Just post the serial number and someone can id it...

May you have at least one sunny day, and a soft chair to sit in..

2008 5.7 L V8 Sequoia
AIR # 31243
WBCCI # 6987
FOUR CORNERS UNIT
purman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 11:23 AM   #3
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctormark View Post
I'm just a newbie but picked up the three-inch rule somewhere: when you jack up the side of the trailer, the wheels should hang down about 3". Is this a valid rule of thumb?

md

Hey, while I'm at it, how and where do I post a picture to get help ID'ing my AS?
There is an article in Airstream Central, that will help you check your axles out, which will also answer your axle question.

Andy
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 11:26 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1967 22' Safari
1960 Caravel
Edmonds , Washington
Quote:

md

Hi md, Take a look here http://www.airforums.com/forums/f40/. All the info on axles you can handle and more.

1973 F-250 4X4 390
1965 Chevy Suburban 454
AIR 6030
WBCCI 4258
TCT

silverleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 12:06 PM   #5
Rivet Master

1972 27' Overlander
Longmont , Colorado