Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-24-2004, 11:40 AM   #1

preparing old Globe Trotter to move it

I have been offered an old Globe Trotter (1963-64?) and need to move it to a location where I can work on it. I am a novice working with AirStreams. The Globe Trotter has been sitting up on axle stands for 7 - 8 years. There is no battery. I am going to have to move it from Central Texas to the Intermountain area of Colorado. It has tires on axles. The shell appears to be relatively tight. What are the steps I need to take to ensure a safe journey from Texas to Colorado? I guess I am asking about how to check and perform the necessary maintaince work on the Globe Trotter so I can move it. I need infomation on the braking and electrical systems as well as hitch, axle and tires. The individual giving me the Globe Trotter is unable to find the owner's manual at this time. Any help at all would be appreciated. My truck (2002 Chevy 2500 HD) has a towing package but no trailer break setup).

Thanks

Harry
mallet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2004, 11:58 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
preparing old Globe Trotter to move it

Greetings Harry!

Welcome to the Forums!

Given the number of years that the coach has been sitting, you will need to consider a thorough inspection and a few maintenance items.

First, an inspection of the "A" frame and hitch components will be necessary to rule out significant rust damage - - surface rust can be expected, but rust though would be dangerous. Also checking visible portions of the frame and axle attachment points for rust through and/or damage would be advisable.