Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-26-2006, 09:42 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Question New axle, wheels, brakes, etc for '65 Globetrotter

Ok,

I may be a newbie here and to Airstreams in general but after reading all of the threads on axles my head is spinning!

After seeing discussions about axle failures my wife and I have decided to start at the bottom with the running gear and just make everything new. What I am confused about is who carries the correct axle and related parts (wheels, brakes, etc) for our '65 Globetrotter? Do I call Axis, Dexter or Inland? Maybe there is more than one correct answer??

Someone help!

thanks!
Jim
grnthumbguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 10:51 AM   #2
1 Rivet Member

1965 17' Caravel
Auburn , California
I just spent an hour reading all the axle post last night as well. I too have a 1965 (Caravel). I checked the repacked the bearings before I pulled mine. And added new tires. My trailer is from dry CA and the axle has no rust damage. My plan is to check the brakes and replace the shocks. I am not positive my axel is original. There are a few things that lead me to belive it may have been replaced. I would love to see a picture of another 5 lug 1965 caravel axel to compare.
CaravelBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 10:59 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1973 23' Safari
1977 23' Safari
2018 25' Flying Cloud
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium
all three are "correct."

Inland will get you the right axle from Henschen, it will fit perfectly, but will be the highest price. If you want an axle with no guesswork, Inland is the source.