Old 01-24-2014, 01:06 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
cary , North Carolina
Need advice on bolt-on axles, new

I'm looking to buy two new axels for a 31 foot sovereign mid bathroom model. I'm terrible at welding and am looking for a direct bolt on solution and the associated measurements.. I'm really new at the whole axel thing, so please be easy on me.. I'm wanting to go disc brakes as I heard their a lot easier to maintain, is this true or not?

Again, I don't want to do any sort of welding or drilling into the frame..so, who has actually replaced their axels with a true bolt on solution, where did you get them, and how fast was the order process (I have seen stories where people returned their axels because either they may have got the measurements wrong or the company got them wrong..)

I have used the mighty google, and came up with SO MANY results and different axels and measurements and what they include. All I want is a bolt on solution with no welding or drilling that I can slap my tires onto when I'm done, and are dependable..

I hope I'm not asking to much here..and thank you.

Old 01-24-2014, 02:05 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
1960 26' Overlander
Mount Vernon , Washington
Call Colin,
I did mine with just bolt in.
here is a thread.
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f437...ml#post1341236

here is his info.
Colin Hyde
Trailer Restorations
Plattsburgh, NY

(518) 578-7772

Old 01-24-2014, 02:07 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
cary , North Carolina
I will look into them thank you very much.
Old 01-24-2014, 03:13 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
cary , North Carolina
Do you know the tourqe values for those bolts?
Old 01-24-2014, 04:07 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member

1964 26' Overlander
1968 30' Sovereign
Vintage Kin Owner
somewhere , Tennessee