Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Axles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-20-2008, 02:54 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1957 16' Bubble
none , Utah
How do I know if the axle and springs need to be replaced?

I have purchased and 1957 bubble. Its been sitting in a driveway for ten years. In general, it's in pretty great shape. All original. My question is this: Since this thing hasn't moved for 10 years, What do I need to do with the axel? How about the old split rim wheels? What do I need to do to get this thing road worthy. What I should I expect it to cost? Also, the owner has the original tall tanks to go with it. I understand they can't be used but is it possible to retrofit them?

I'm a finish carpenter and am good at general detail finish, but I'm no mechanic. Any voices of experience would be helpful. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	L1010388.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	306.5 KB
ID:	64117  
RWinward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 05:31 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
A straight axle is not like a torsion axle as far as sitting, it generally will not deteriorate from sitting in one spot. I would get new springs, or get the old ones reworked, and those split rims should go away. Most places won't touch them.
When you go to tow it anywhere, you should repack the wheel bearings before it goes more than a few blocks, who knows when the last time it was done, and a seized bearing would probably ruin the axle.
Old 07-20-2008, 05:36 AM   #3
Rivet Master

, Minnesota