Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-02-2005, 03:12 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1986 34' Limited
Prospect , Tennessee
What do you all recommend for the best grease for repacking wheel bearings. This is my first time doing it (I just bought the trailer) and am getting ready to go full time.

Just dive in....the water's fine

Lee Davis
Lee Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 03:29 PM   #2
Moderator dude

1966 26' Overlander
Phoenix , Arizona
You know Lee I think this has been discussed and may generate a lot of new discussion and I am going to tell you what I do.

All of my wheel bearings get the same kind of grease. (Cars, trucks, trailers) They all get water proof grease that I use for my boat trailer. I do this because I do not have to buy different greases and have a seperate grease gun for each type. I have been doing this since 1986 and so far I have had no issues with bearing failures on any vehicles or trailers. I have only had my A/S since 2001 and it has been good too. It may be more expensive in the cost of grease, however I have only one type to keep track of and one grease gun to load. (And in the future one bearing packer to load) It keeps life simple for me. And anything I can do to simplify my life, I usually jump on.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Action
Old 09-02-2005, 06:40 PM   #3
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Davis
What do you all recommend for the best grease for repacking wheel bearings. This is my first time doing it (I just bought the trailer) and am getting ready to go full time.

Just dive in....the water's fine

Lee Davis