Old 10-14-2009, 10:57 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Berkeley , California
Buying OLD trailer, wondering about axle, frame, and brakes

I'm trying to find an old 23' - 25' vintage airstream, but am then gutting it, so looking for a cheap'o, probably one that has been sitting on someones property for a while. I am totally new to airstreams and don't know much about cars either. I'll be getting the trailer off craigslist, so i'll be dealing with private party and feel like i should know what i'm doing (as much as possible anyways) so i don't buy a trailer that needs $$$ worth of work done on it.
What are some good things to look at that are indicators about whether the axle, frame, and brakes are in good or bad shape?
Any info is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Simon
Nomad's Kitchen

Old 10-15-2009, 12:03 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1962 24' Tradewind
1967 17' Caravel
1959 22' Flying Cloud
weatherford , Texas
First thing go jump on back bumper real hard! If you separates then run! The frame is bad!!! Axles seem to be a big topic also. First thing go straight to tire shop also.

Old 10-15-2009, 12:15 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1957 22' Flying Cloud
Odessa , Washington
You've come to the right place.

Hello Simon, And welcome to the AS Forum,
Your posting reminds me of our situation. My wife and I bought a '58 Flying Cloud last January on a whim. We knew absolutely nothing about Airstreams or RV'ing in general, but were bored and thought it might be fun to fix up "one of those old trailers that looks like a toaster". Sure enough we found one on Craig's list a couple hours drive away. Seller said it was road ready & safe to tow. It was not, but we got it home on a "wing & a prayer." He also said it needed about 10 hours of work. We've been working on this project nearly every day since then and spent over $5K and I think I'm about half-way done with what they call here a " full Monty".