Old 03-29-2008, 11:16 AM   #1

1959 18' "Footer"
Burnsville , Minnesota
Question Bearing replacement for a 1959 18D

Hello Everyone,

I recently purchased my 1959 Airstream 18D. It is amazing. However, yesterday while driving home we noticed we had lost a hub cap and the wheel was wobbly. We pulled over to check it out and the bearing was smoking and had been destroyed, nothing but bits and pieces. We got it home and have taken the wheel off and the nut and now we can not figure out how to get the hub off without wrecking the shaft. Does anyone know how these were assembled back then and how to disassemble them? Are they pressed on? We can not order a new bearing until we know what type of bearing we have. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you,

JT

Old 03-29-2008, 11:31 AM   #2
The Hawk's Lair

1985 34.5' Airstream 345
BACK WOODS , Minnesota
Probably the heat seized the races onto the hub. I'm not an expert on that model, but I'll bet you'll either need to hear it or knock it loose. Course if you heat it you could ruin the temper. Should be some smarter answers coming soon.

AIRSTREAM 345 TURBO-DIESEL
VFW, LEGION, NRA

cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 01:58 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois