Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-03-2008, 04:24 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Bad axles? Yikes!!

All this axle talk is making me nervous. I recall the 3"-4" inch clearence rule but is the distance as you look up under the wheel well or as you stand back twenty feet? See what I mean? If I stand back and look at my 88 29-footer I cannot see the tops of the tires. If I look up under-at the top of the tires- I have clearence.
Jeeeeze. I'm now a nervous wreck over this since due to some recent setbacks I don't have thousands $$$$ for new axles.
Anniedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 08:26 AM   #2
30' 1999 Excella

Kingwood , Texas
Send a message via Yahoo to Tin Diesel
I'm not an expert in this, but take a careful look at the pictures I posted at the top of the thread (click on each one for a larger view).
You can see that the wheel is on a 'trailing arm' - meaning the wheel is slightly behind the axel. This arm rotates up and down, giving you shock absorbtion (this is in lieu of springs.) If that arm is level to the ground or goes upward from the axel, the axel is bad (see first picture). If the arm goes down, then its still good and you don't have to worry (see second pictures). Hope this helps.
Old 06-03-2008, 12:17 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

Smile

Thank you again. I will continue to study the pictures but at this point I am unable to understand what I am seeing. I will have someone take a look. I have great difficulty getting down on the ground at present. I don't THINK I have a problem but this thread has me nervous. Ha!!
Old 06-03-2008, 12:20 PM   #4
30' 1999 Excella

Kingwood , Texas
Send a message via Yahoo to Tin Diesel
take a picture. post it here.
You'll get answers...
Old 06-03-2008, 12:37 PM   #5
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anniedog